Home test



Support Kinesiology

Website Update

Kinesiology and Public Health Directory

The Kinesiology and Public Health Department faculty are fully dedicated to making every student's experience at Cal Poly fulfilling, meaningful, and challenging. All faculty members have substantial industry experience and are readily available to share that experience with students for both academic and career counseling.

REMINDER: Office hours are not finalized until the 2nd week of the quarter. Please contact the instructor via email or phone until office hours are posted.

Department Contact

Out of an abundance of caution and care, the Department of Kinesiology and Public Health office is currently operating virtually and is happy to serve you in the following ways:

For more information and updates about COVID-19 (the disease caused by the novel coronavirus), please visit https://coronavirus.calpoly.edu.

On campus information:

Kinesiology and Public Health Department
43A-458
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407-0400 USA
Telecommuting – call or text 805-242-3118 (current number)
Office 805-242-3118 | Fax 805-756-7273
publichealth@calpoly.edu
kinesiology@calpoly.edu

Jump To:

Faculty
Staff

Department Chair

Name specialization Office Phone (805) Email Fall 2020 Virtual Office Hours
Photograph of Kristine Jankovitz, Ph.D.Kristine Jankovitz, Ph.D. Public Health, Health Promotion, Health Education 43A-458E 756-2545 kjankovi@calpoly.edu M 11am-1pm, W 11am-12pm, Th 3-4pm, or by appointment
Zoom 

Staff

Name specialization Office Phone  (805) Email

Julia Jones

Julia Jones

Administrative Support Coordinator

43A-458D

756-2546

jjone104@calpoly.edu

Emily Kelly

Instructional Support Technician 43A-458B 756-2243 ekelly08@calpoly.edu

Eric Benson

Instructional Support Technician 

43A-458C or     

43A-155

756-7525 ecbenson@calpoly.edu

Sarah Carney 

Administrative Support Assistant 

43A-457

242-3118 

sacarney@calpoly.edu 

Faculty

Name specialization Office Phone  (805) Email Fall 2020 Virtual Office Hours
Julia Alber, Ph.D. 

Cancer prevention,  Public Health Communication

43A-367 756-1779 jmalber@calpoly.edu T 10am-12pm and Th 12-2pm
Zoom
Photograph of Robert D. Clark, Ph.D.Robert D. Clark, Ph.D.

Neuromechanical basis for movement; Biomechanics and Motor Control.

43A-364 756-0285 rdclark@calpoly.edu By appointment
Zoom
Photograph of Don CleggDon Clegg, MS Clinical Exercise Physiology and Exercise and Aging 43A-373 756-2182 dclegg@calpoly.edu M and Th 1-3pm
Zoom
Photograph of Steven Craig Davis, Ph.D.Steven Craig Davis, Ph.D.

Exercise and Applied Physiology

43A-353 756-2754

sdavis@calpoly.edu

T 11:10am-12pm, W 3:10-5pm, and Th 11:40am-12:30pm
Zoom
Photograph of Christine Hackman, Ph.D.Christine Hackman, Ph.D.

Public Health. Health Education and Promotion

43A-372 756-1363 chackman@calpoly.edu W 3-5:30pm and Th 8-9:30am
Zoom
Photograph of Kellie Green HallKellie Green Hall, Ph.D.

Motor Behavior

25-231 756-1776 kghall@calpoly.edu  
Cory Greever, Ph.D. 

Exercise Physiology

43A-369 756-2103 greever@calpoly.edu MTWTh 4-5pm
Zoom 
Photograph of Todd HagobianTodd Hagobian, Ph.D.

Exercise Physiology and Energy Metabolism. Obesity and Type-2 Diabetes Prevention.

43A-357 756-7511 thagobia@calpoly.edu WF 12-2pm
Zoom
Sarah Keadle,  Ph.D. 

Physical activity epidemiology. Wearable sensors to measure physical behavior.

43A-370 756-1785 skeadle@calpoly.edu T 11am-12pm, W 1:30-3:30pm, F 1-2pm
Zoom 

Adrienne Lent, DrPH 

 

43A-356

 

ablent@calpoly.edu 

MW 1:30-4pm
Zoom (email for passcode) 

Stefanee Maurice, Ph.D.

Sport and Exercise Psychology, Sport Sociology

43A-365 756-2541 somauric@calpoly.edu T 12-4pm
Zoom 
Photograph of Camille O'Bryant.Camille O'Bryant, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Student Success, Welfare and Issues of Diversity and Inclusion, CSM. Psychosocial aspects of physical activity/sports; Multicultural issues in sport, exercise and physical activity

25-232 756-1787 cobryant@calpoly.edu  
Photograph of Suzanne Phelan, Ph.D.Suzanne Phelan, Ph.D.

Obesity Treatment and Prevention

43A-374 756-2087 sphelan@calpoly.edu TTH 11am-1pm and by appt
Zoom
Photograph of Joni RobertsJoni Roberts, DrPH CHES

Global health; Young adult sexual health; Cultural beliefs

43A-354 756-5637 jrober81@calpoly.edu MTWThF 12-1pm
Zoom 
Photograph of Jafra ThomasJafra D. Thomas, Ph.D.

Sport and Exercise Psychology, Sport Sociology

43A-376 756-5636 jthoma84@calpoly.edu M 2:30-3:30pm and TTh 12:30-1:30pm
Zoom 
Marilyn Tseng,    Ph.D. 

Health disparities and immigrant health. Public Health Nutrition.

43A-351 756-2196 mtseng@calpoly.edu MW 4-5pm and Th 2-4pm
Zoom 
Photograph of Alison K. Ventura, Ph.D.Alison K. Ventura, Ph.D.

Obesity Prevention during Infancy and Early Childhood; Parent-Child Interactions; Caregiver Feeding Practices

43A-371 756-5693 akventur@calpoly.edu M 9:30-11:30am and Th 1-3pm
Zoom 

Part-Time Faculty

Name Office Phone  (805) Email Fall 2020 Virtual Office Hours
Avrit, Darren 43A-363

756-2545 (messages only)

davrit@calpoly.edu M by appointment, TTh 4:30-5:30pm, and WF 10-11am
Borgard, Chris 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

cborgard@calpoly.edu  
Coryell, Julia 43A-375

756-2545 (messages only)

jgcoryel@calpoly.edu W 12-2pm
Zoom
Danks, Jane 43A-358 756-2545 (messages only) jdanks@calpoly.edu  

Escobedo, Krysti

43A-358   krescobe@calpoly.edu  
Goldie, Steve 65-118 756-2545 (messages only) mustanglanes@gmail.com  
Gonzalez, Lupita 43A-375

756-2545 (messages only)

mgonz220@calpoly.edu  
Goughnour, Alisa 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

agoughno@calpoly.edu WTh 2-3pm
Zoom 
Hagobian, Nicole 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

nhagobia@calpoly.edu Th 1-2pm
Zoom 
Hall, Greg 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

ghall@calpoly.edu By appointment
Holton, Julia 43A-375

756-2545 (messages only)

jeholton@calpoly.edu W 2:10-5pm
Zoom
Hupp, Megan 43A-458 756-2545 (messages only) mhupp@calpoly.edu  
Hosegood Martin, Pat 43A-355

756-5367 (messages only)

pmartin@calpoly.edu  
Iscold, Amy 43A-363 756-2545 (messages only) aiscold@calpoly.edu T 10-11am
Zoom 

Johnson, Carra 

43A-366

756-2545 (messages only) 

cjohn210@calpoly.edu 

Th 11am-3pm
Zoom
Johnson, Paige 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

pfjohnso@calpoly.edu By appointment
Katz, Gary 43A-363 756-2545 (messages only) gmkatz@calpoly.edu  
Merlo, Beth 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

bmmerlo@calpoly.edu By appointment
Zoom
Meyer, Max 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

wmeyer@calpoly.edu M 4-5pm
Contact for Zoom link
Nelson, Christine 43A-355 756-5367 (messages only) cinelson@calpoly.edu T 1:10-3pm
Zoom

Th 9:10-11am
Zoom 
Nelson, Matthew 43A-358 756-2545 (messages only) mbnelson@calpoly.edu  
O'Hara, Christie 43A-375

756-2545 (messages only)

crohara@calpoly.edu TF 9:10-11am
Zoom 
Proll, Bill Racquet Courts

756-2545 (messages only)

wproll@calpoly.edu  

Samaniego, Kara

43A-188   kashmiri@calpoly.edu  
Seal, Adam 43A-368   adseal@calpoly.edu  
Sigler, Christopher 43A-352 756-2545 (messages only) jsigler@calpoly.edu  
Sorensen, Ena 43A-352

756-2545 (messages only)

sorensen@calpoly.edu  
Starnes, Heather 43A-458

756-2545 (messages only)

hstarnes@calpoly.edu By appointment
Streder, KT 43A-375

756-2545 (messages only)

kstreder@calpoly.edu By appointment
Zoom
Torgerson, Louise 42-205E 756-7041 ltorgers@calpoly.edu  

Related Content

Planning for Fall

Learn More Here